I remember how it left me shook!

Sudhiksha narrated:

I remember travelling nightlong from my hometown to the city where I study and reaching my destination around 0400- 04:30 in the morning. That day the bus had halted two stops earlier due to road construction and I had to get onto the only auto I could locate in the vicinity. The driver kept invading my private space from the minute I got into the vehicle. He kept asking personal questions and made snide and vulgar remarks on the way I look, what I’m wearing, and the audacity of women to step out in dark. He further started screaming at me and reached out to grab my hand when I told him to wait outside my Hostel to go get extra cash.

I vividly recall shuddering and the inability to scream as he continued to block my way. I somehow managed to evade his clutch and ran into my Hostel, praying he didn’t follow me inside. I soon realized I didn’t have my wallet on me and it took me over half an hour or more to calm myself down until I went outside again. I managed to find my wallet (it fell in the Hostel’s Corridor) but I still remember quivering and trembling the entire time despite knowing he was nowhere around.

This incident shook me so much that I decided that this will be the last time I travel overnight.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close