I was living in a denial!

Someone Anonymously shared with us:

Neither do the walls of your house, nor the members of your family come with guaranteed safety.

It’s one thing to face abuse and a whole different thing to accept it and ourselves afterwards. Having always lived in denial of being constantly abused in my own house, I thought accepting it would help me sleep better. At least, I wouldn’t be lying to myself.

However, unlike I had expected, it made me even more uncomfortable in my skin. I wonder if I’ll ever be able to live without the fear that it might repeat and that when it does, like always, not only will I be physically weak, but also mentally incapacitated to fight back simply because of the blood relation involved therein.

Sometimes, I can’t very well comprehend, if I was better off living like nothing’s wrong, or with the truth that I was abused and may be subject to it again.

PS: This is the first time I’m writing about this, again, only hoping it makes me a little less uncomfortable in my own skin and that it gives strength to anyone struggling with acceptance of what haunts them.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close